Hi All, in earlier post we had gone through some useful information of Windows Server 2016.

Today let’s learn something today about eidtions of Windows Server 2016. They are as below:

*Windows Server 2016 Essentials
*Windows Server 2016 Standard
*Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
*Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2016
*Windows Stoage Server 2016 Workgroup
*Windows Storage Server 2016 Standard

Sounds little bit long list know? But they differentiate with each other with some margin so it will be very easy to choose among them. Now let’s go with some brief about them all.

1. Windows Server 2016 Essentials
It refers to Windows Small Business Server. Supports up to 25 users and 50 devices. Supports two processor cores and up to 64 GB of RAM. Does not support virtualization.

2. Windows Server 2016 Standard
It is designed for physical server environments without giving priority to virtualization. Supports 64 processor cores and 4 TB of RAM. It will provide licenses for two virtual macines and supports Nano server installation.

3. Windows Server Datacenter
It specially designed for highly virualized environment giving priority to private cloud and hybrid cloud environments. Supports up to 640 processor cores and 4 TB of RAM. It includes unlimited Windows Server virtual machine licenses for VMs.

4. Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2016
It works as stand-alone virtualization server. Host OS will not cost you for license. Sounds greate know by hearing this but it’s true. And has limitation too like it does support Windows Server 2016 roles except limited file service feature. It does have GUI but have UI that displays a Menu of configuration tasks.

5. Windows Storage Server 2016 Workgroup
It acts as an entry-level unified storage appliance. It allows 50 users, one processor core and 32 GB of RAM. Supports domain joining.

6. Windows Storage Server 2016 Standard
It supports up to 64 sockets but is licensed on a two sockets on incremneting basis. Supports up to 4 TB of RAM and includes licenses of two virtual machines. Supports only few roles such as DNS and DHCP Server but does not support Active Directory Domain services and all domain related services.

Comments are closed.